Tasmanian Hospitality Venues Shine on National Stage

Tasmanian Hospitality Venues Shine on National Stage

Yesterday at the Australian Hotels Association (AHA) National gala event at the Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort on the Gold Coast, the winners of the 2018 AHA National Awards for Excellence were announced. 

Tasmanian Hospitality Association (THA) CEO Steve Old congratulated all Tasmanian nominees and passed on a special acknowledgement to the four (4) Tasmanian venue winners on being the best in the country in their chosen category. 

“The 2018 AHA National Awards for Excellence have once again recognised Tasmanian venues as being some of the best in the country”. 

“With Hospitality being the third (3rd) largest employing industry in the state with around 10% of the workforce, it is vitally important to our state that we have a strong and vibrant industry” Mr Old said 

“Tasmania did unbelievably well in all categories and feedback from the judges suggested that we were not far from winning many more awards on the night with several of our venues running a close second in their chosen categories”.

“I particularly would like to congratulate our three (3) winners on the night – Those being the Formby Hotel, Frogmore Creek and MACq 01 Hotel (Who took out 2 awards)” Mr Old said 

“For Tasmania to claim to have the Best Regional Restaurant in the country for the second year running just goes to show the quality of food and operators we have in our state and it is great to see our venues get the acknowledgments that they so richly deserve. The judges were very impressed with the overall quality and presentation of the food at Frogmore Creek and the outstanding service.” Mr Old said. 

“Congratulations must also go to The Formby Hotel in Devonport for taking out the Best Bistro Regional award ahead of many fine establishments around the country” Mr Old said

“Finally, a big congratulations to MACq 01 Hotel for taking out two prestigious awards on the day, those being Best Superior Accommodation and Overall Hotel of the Year – Accommodation Division.” Mr Old said

“It was a proud day to be involved in the Tasmanian Hospitality industry” Mr Old said.

Full Winners List

AHA National Category Restaurant / Individual Name Company Suburb State Total
Best Environment & Energy Efficiency Practice Little National Hotel Barton ACT 1
Best Bistro - Metropolitan The Prince Kirrawee NSW 10
Best Retail Liquor Outlet Warners At The Bay Warners Bay
Hotel Industry Rising Star Amelia Benjamin Hilton Sydney
Best Deluxe Accommodation Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley Wolgan Valley
Best Outdoor/Non Enclosed Facility Watsons Bay Boutique Hotel Watsons Bay
Outstanding Community Service & Achievement Settlers Inn Port Macquarie
Best Hotel Bar - Accommodation Division Champagne Bar Sofitel Sydney Darling Harbour Darling Harbour
Chef of the Year Nancy Kinchela Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley Wolgan Bay
Best Marketed Hotel - General Division Rose of Australia Erskinville
Overall Hotel of the Year - Regional Headlands Hotel Austinmer Beach Austinmer Beach
Best Sporting Entertainment Venue Beachfront Hotel Darwin NT 3
Best TAB Licensed Venue SKYCITY Darwin Darwin
Best Tourism Initiative Curtin Springs Alice Springs
Best Entertainment Venue Eatons Hill Hotel Eatons Hill QLD 6
Best Marketed Hotel - Accommodation Division Rydges South Bank Brisbane Brisbane
Front of House Employee of the Year - Accommodation Division Ilse Maritz The Johnson Spring Hill
Best Meeting and Events Venue Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort Port Douglas Port Douglas
Best Redeveloped Hotel -  Accommodation Division Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort Port Douglas Port Douglas
Front of House Employee of the Year - General Division Nicholas Stanton-Cook Toms Tavern Aitkenvale
Best Bar Presentation & Service - Regional Sporties Tavern, Port Pirie Port Pirie SA 6
Best Gaming Venue - Metropolitan Lakes Resort Hotel West Lakes
Best Mid-Range Accommodation Largs Pier Hotel Largs Pier
Best Redeveloped Hotel - General Division The Crafers Hotel Crafers
Best Restaurant - Metropolitan Apothecary Adelaide
Overall Hotel of the Year - Metropolitan The Crafers Hotel Crafers
Best Bistro - Regional Formby Hotel Devonport TAS 4
Best Restaurant - Regional Frogmore Creek Cambridge
Overall Hotel of the Year - Accommodation Division MACq 01 Hobart
Best Superior Accommodation MACq 01 Hotel Hobart
Best Gaming Venue - Regional Zagames Ballarat Ballarat VIC 9
Front of House Employee of the Year - Accommodation Division Ashleigh Macdonald Crown Towers Melbourne
Best Hotel Accommodation - General Division Taylors Lakes Hotel Taylors Lakes
Best Hotel Group Operator Pegasus Leisure Group
Best Keno Venue The Middle Hotel Melbourne
Chef of the Year Ashly Hicks Garden State Hotel Melbourne
Employee Excellence in Service - Accommodation Division Robin Power Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Best Bar Presentation & Service - Metropolitan Garden State Hotel Melbourne
Outstanding Achievement in Training Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Best Restaurant - Accommodation Nobu Crown Perth Perth WA 3
Best Suite / Apartment Hotel Fraser Suites Perth Perth
Employee Excellence in Service - General Division Katie Chan Long Chim at the State Buildings Perth

THA CEO Steve Old is available for comment on 0418 363 566